Chen Daisun Memorial Lecture in Economics: Eric Maskin, 2007 Nobel Laureate in Economics

【Speaker】Eric Maskin 2007 Nobel Laureate in Economics Adams University Professor at Harvard University
【Topic】Mechanism Design: How to Implement Social Goals
【Time】Tuesday, December 17, 2013,10:30-11:45 
【Venue】Auditorium, Wei Lun Building, Tsinghua SEM
【Organizer】School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University
Eric S. Maskin  CV
Eric Maskin is Adams University Professor at Harvard. He received the 2007 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (with L. Hurwicz and R. Myerson) for laying the foundations of mechanism design theory. He also has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics.
He received his A.B. and Ph.D from Harvard and was a postdoctoral fellow at Jesus College, Cambridge University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011. He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012.
He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a fellow of the Econometric Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the British Academy, the European Economic Association, the Royal Spanish Academy of Economics and Finance, and the Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory. He is an honorary fellow of St John’s College, Cambridge and Jesus College, Cambridge. He is an honorary professor of six universities and the recipient of nine honorary doctorates. Among other prizes, he has received the Kempe Award in environmental economics, the EFR-Business Week Award, the Grande Médaille from both the cities of Marseille and Toulouse, the Harvard Centennial Medal, the Cristóbal Gabarrón Foundation International Award in Economics, the Louise Blouin Foundation Award, and the Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize.
He has served as editor of the Quarterly Journal of Economics, Economics Letters, and the Economic Theory Monograph Series (World Scientific Publishing) and as associate or advisory editor of several other journals. He is a past president of the Econometric Society and the Game Theory Society. He is the director of the Jerusalem Summer School in Economic Theory.