Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board Holds its 10th Meeting


The annual Advisory Board meeting of Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management was held at the Main Building of Tsinghua University on October 29, 2009.

At the meeting, Professor QIAN Yingyi, Dean of Tsinghua SEM reported to the members about major progresses made by the School during the past year; Assistant Dean GAO Jian briefed the participants on the new Tsinghua MBA curriculum and the China Business Case Center.

The board members held discussions concerning further development of Tsinghua SEM.

In the afternoon, Chinese State Councilor LIU Yandong met with overseas members attending this year’s meeting at the Diaoyutai State Guesthouse. Liu expressed gratitude to the board members for their contributions in promoting the country's economic and social development as well as university education advancement; Liu also applauded the members' efforts in promoting exchanges and cooperation between China and renowned global corporations as well as overseas universities.

(LIU Yandong held talks with overseas members of the advisory board:

LIU Yandong(second from right); John Thorton (second from left); ZhOU Ji (right); H. Lee Scott, Jr.(left))

Liu also talked about China's current economic situation and development progress during the past six decades. ZHOU Ji, Chinese minister of education was present at the meeting.

Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board was established in 2000. Members of the Board are made up of elite business leaders, visionary government officials and renowned scholars from internationally renowned businesses and academic institutions. Former Premier ZHU Rongji is the Honorary Chairman of the Board. Mr. Henry M. Paulson Jr., US Secretary of the Treasury and former Chairman and CEO of Goldman Sachs, is the founding Chairman of the Board (2000-2002). Lord John Browne, Group Chief Executive of BP p.l.c. serves as the second Chairman of the Advisory Board (2003-2007). The third Chairman is H. Lee Scott, Jr., president and CEO of Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.. (2007-2009). At this year’s meeting. John Thorton, Guest Professor and Director of Global Leadership Program at Tsinghua University and former Co-President of the Goldman Sachs Group, Inc. was elected as the Board’s fourth Chairman.

Members attending the 2009 annual meeting of the Advisory Board of Tsinghua University School of Economics and Management:

Sir John Bond

Chairman, Vodafone Group PLC

Former Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings PLC

David Brennan

Chief Executive Officer, Astra Zeneca

Lord Browne of Madingley

Former Group Chief Executive, BP PLC

Michael T. Duke

President&CEO, Wal-mart Stores, Inc.

Victor K. Fung

Group Chairman, Li & Fung Group of Companies

Christopher B. Galvin

Chairman & Co-Founder, Harrison Street Capital LLC

Former Chairman & CEO, Motorola

Carlos Ghosn

President & CEO, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.; President & CEO, Renault S.A.

Terry Gou

President & Chairman, Foxconn Technology Group

Maurice R. Greenberg

Chairman & CEO, C. V. Starr & Co., Inc.

Former Chairman & CEO, AIG

GU Binglin

President, Tsinghua University

GUO Shuqing

Chairman, China Construction Bank

HO Ching

Executive Director & CEO, Temasek Holdings Private Limited

Irwin Mark Jacobs

Co-Founder and Director, Qualcomm Incorporated

Gerard Kleisterlee

President & CEO, Royal Philips Electronics

Richard Li

Chairman, PCCW Ltd.

LIU Chuanzhi

President & CEO, Legend Holdings Ltd.

LIU Mingkang

Chairman, China Banking Regulatory Commission

LOU Jiwei

Chairman, China Investment Corporation

Andrònico Luksic

Chairman, Luksic Group

Michael McNamara

CEO, Flextronics International

David M. Rubenstein

Co-Founder & Managing Director, The Carlyle Group

Garth Saloner

Dean, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University

James J. Schiro

CEO, Zurich Financial Services

David Schmittlein

Dean, MIT Sloan School of Management

Stephen A. Schwarzman

Chairman & CEO, Blackstone

H. Lee Scott, Jr.

Former President and CEO, Wal-mart Stores, Inc.

Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Board, Wal-mart Stores, Inc.

John L. Thornton

Guest Professor & Director, Global Leadership Program, Tsinghua University

Chairman, Board of Trustees, Brookings Institution

Former Co-President, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

WANG Dazhong

Former President, Tsinghua University

Marjorie Yang

Chairman, Esquel Group

ZHAO Chunjun

Former Dean, School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University

ZHOU Xiaochuan

Governor, The People’s Bank of China