Vice Premier Meets SEM Advisory Board


The 2010 annual meeting of the Advisory Board of SEM took place on the morning of October 21, 2010 in the main building of Tsinghua University, only one day after the fourth Tsinghua Management Global Forum.

The meeting was hosted by the Board’s Chairman John L. Thornton. Dean QIAN Yingyi of SEM first reviewed achievements of the School in the past year, followed by two reports on undergraduate curriculum reform and entrepreneurship education, made by Associate Dean BAI Chong-en and Assistant Dean GAO Jian of SEM respectively.

Vice Premier LI Keqiang meeting with SEM Advisory Board

In the afternoon, LI Keqiang, a member of the Political Bureau of the CPC Central Committee and Vice Premier of the State Council, met with SEM Advisory Board members at Zhongnanhai.

LI Keqiang encouraged the Advisory Board members to contribute to the development of China by bringing about collaborations in areas such as scientific and technological education. He also answered questions raised by the Board members, saying that despite the economic boom after the Reform and Opening up, the per capita income of China is still low. The development is yet to be balanced, and there is a lack of high-level innovative talents. China will continue to strive for long-term, stable economic growth, contributing to the prosperity of the world as a whole.

Present at the meeting were also GU Binglin, President of Tsinghua University, Vice Chairman of the Advisory Board, WANG Dazhong, former President of Tsinghua University, and ZHAO Chunjun, former Dean of SEM, both members of the Board, as well as SEM’s current Dean QIAN Yingyi.

LI Keqiang and Board members at Zhongnanhai

Under the initiative of founding Dean ZHU Rongji, the Advisory Board of Tsinghua SEM was established in October 2000. The Board is composed of more than 50 Chairmen, Directors and CEOs of top domestic or international enterprises, Deans of prestigious business schools, as well as renowned governmental leaders. Before Thornton, Henry M. Paulson, Former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury and former Chairman and CEO of the Goldman Sachs Group, Lord Browne of Madingley, former Group Chief Executive of BP, and H. Lee Scott, former President and CEO of Wal-Mart Stores, all served as Board Chairman successively.

The Advisory Board having its 11th meeting at Tsinghua

Since the founding of the Board, the members have been providing supports to the School. Among many things, they have been suggesting developmental strategies, facilitating international collaborations, and supporting the establishment of research centers.

Board members at the meeting taking a picture under the motto of Tsinghua University

A list of Advisory Board members present at the 2010 annual meeting:

Lord Browne of Madingley

Former Group Chief Executive, BP PLC

John L. Thornton

Guest Professor and Director, Global Leadership Program, Tsinghua University

Chairman, Board of Trustees, Brookings Institution

GU Binglin

President, Tsinghua University

Dominic Barton

Global Managing Director, McKinsey & Company

Sir John Bond

Chairman, Vodafone Group PLC

Former Group Chairman, HSBC Holdings PLC

Michael T. Duke

President and CEO, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

Christopher B. Galvin

Chairman and Co-Founder, Harrison Street Capital LLC

Former Chairman and CEO, Motorola

Thomas H. Glocer

CEO, Thomson Reuters

Terry Gou

Founder and President, Foxconn Technology Group

Maurice R. Greenberg

Chairman and CEO, C. V. Starr & Co., Inc.

Former Chairman and CEO, AIG

Robert Greifeld

CEO, the NASDAQ OMX Group, Inc.

GUO Shuqing

Chairman, China Construction Bank

HO Ching

Executive Director and CEO, Temasek Holdings

Irwin Mark Jacobs

Co-Founder and Director, Qualcomm Inc.

LI Rongrong

Former Chairman, State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission

Jay O. Light

Former Dean, Harvard Business School

LIU Chuanzhi

Chairman and President, Legend Holdings Ltd.

Chairman, Lenovo

Andrónico Luksic

Chairman, Luksic Group

MA Kai

State Councilor and Secretary-General of the State Council, People’s Republic of China

Michael McNamara

CEO, Flextronics International

Jorma Ollila

Chairman, Nokia Corporation

Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell

David M. Rubenstein

Co-Founder and Managing Director, the Carlyle Group

Garth Saloner

Dean, Stanford Graduate School of Business

David Schmittlein

John C Head III Dean, MIT Sloan School of Management

Stephen A. Schwarzman

Chairman and CEO, Blackstone

Howard Stringer

Chairman, President and CEO, Sony Corporation

Joseph M. Tucci

Chairman, President and CEO, EMC Corporation

WANG Dazhong

Former President, Tsinghua University

Marjorie Yang

Chairman, Esquel Group

ZHAO Chunjun

Former Dean, School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University